Sunday, September 8, 2013


Chimpanzees, sometimes colloquially chimp, are two extant hominid species of apes in the genus Pan. The Congo River forms the boundary between the native habitats of the two species It is of two types, one Common chimpanzee, Pan troglodytes (West and Central Africa) and the other one is Bonobo, Pan paniscus (forests of the Democratic Republic of the Congo). Chimpanzees are members of the Hominidae family, along with gorillas, humans, and orangutans. The male common chimp is up to 1.7 m (5.6 ft) high when standing, and weighs as much as 70 kg (150 lb); the female is somewhat smaller. The common chimp’s long arms, when extended, have a span one and a half times as long as the body’s height and a chimpanzee's arms are longer than its legs. The bonobo is a little shorter and thinner than the common chimpanzee, but has longer limbs. Both species use their long, powerful arms for climbing in trees.

Common Chimpanzee

Bonobo Chimpanzee

No comments:

Post a Comment